Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Research done in Turitsa and Dravtsi

Posted by Ray Christensen 
Research done in Turitsa and Dravtsi
September 11, 2015 09:43AM
I have been researching my family roots for about two years. My grandfather's parents come from Rusyn villages that are now located in Poland, and I have been looking through microfilms and writing Polish archives to find their information. It has been a slow but rewarding process. In contrast, my grandmother and both of her parents come from Rusyn villages now located in Ukraine (John Shushura from Dravtsi and Catherine Sikula from Turitsa). I tried multiple times to contact the archives in Uzhgorod, but never got a response. There are no microfilms for these areas either. I was stymied, but in my looking I saw Maxim's name in replies in various places offering his services to find records. I contacted Maxim and asked about the possibilities. We agreed on a plan and shortly after making my request I got back by return e-mail the records of both the Shushura and Sikula families. The records included close up scans of each of the entries (for my great grandparent, their parents, and their brothers and sisters) along with a short summary of the relevant information. It took me quite a while to go through each of the records Maxim sent, but it was very helpful to have his short summary of each record. It made it possible for me to figure out what each entry on each of the records said. Of course, not every record that I had hoped to have found existed. That is the nature of these records, but what Maxim sent answered a lot of questions about my family and was a wonderful source of information about them. If anyone has questions and would like to talk to me directly about my family or my research, you can contact me at provoray@gmail.com. I was very pleased with Maxim's work. In fact, I plan on asking him to do some more research for me on a few other families in my line.